Eighty Butler Tech Students Qualify for National Business Professionals of America Competition

Butler Tech students qualified to compete at the national Business Professionals of America Leadership Conference

Butler Tech will send 80 students to national competition at the Business Professionals of America (BPA) National Leadership Conference in Dallas, Texas, May 9 – 13. The students qualified at state-level competition during the Ohio BPA State Leadership Conference held in Columbus. An additional 35 students placed in the Top 10 of their competitions.

During the conference, it was announced that three Butler Tech students won three of the four available Ohio BPA scholarships. Safa Azad (Financial Services – Northwest), Nicholas Harper (Financial Services – Northwest), and Adam Haynes (Digital Media – Northwest) will each receive a $1,000 scholarship. The scholarships are awarded based on grade point average; intent to pursue a college degree in business, administrative services, management, finance, information technology, marketing, or entrepreneurship; and an interview with judging committee.

“This year, we set a record number for state BPA competitors with 198 students,” said Kristen AbuDakar, Butler Tech BPA administrator. “Their performance at state competition was an amazing showing of the hard work and effort by our students and their teachers.”

Butler Tech instructors and advisors with students involved in BPA include: Steve Chambers and Tom Newman (Butler Tech D. Russel Lee Building); Joni Bachelor, Elias Perdue, and Mike Davis (Fairfield programs); Peter Clark and Rick Yerigan (Northwest programs); Michelle Hadsell and Jim Williams (Colerain programs); Nick Argentati, Rusty Hubbard, and Ken Merchant (Northwest Middle School programs).


Colerain High School

Michael Lewis Advanced Spreadsheets
Brittany Ashcraft Business Law & Ethics
Hunter Mastlin Fundamentals of Web Design
Ben Lowry Medical Office Procedures

Colerain Middle School

Adrian Cook Digital Game Design Team ML
Justin Rettig Digital Game Design Team ML
Cyrus McCane Financial Literacy
Dior Betts Presentation Management Team ML
Grace Gehner Presentation Management Team ML
Trinyti Harvey Presentation Management Team ML
Mia Heibel Presentation Management Team ML
Kaitlyn Hill Presentation Management Team ML
Avery Mason Presentation Management Team ML
Becka Siener Presentation Management Team ML
Samantha Woytsek Presentation Management Team ML
Alexandra Harvey Spreadsheet Applications ML
Cole Kombrinck Website Design Team
Ethan Stoelt Website Design Team
Brayden Williams Website Design Team

D. Russel Lee Building

Jacob Dorow 325 Network Design Team
David Gillispie 325 Network Design Team
Kaleb Heinz 325 Network Design Team
Dylan McKnight 325 Network Design Team

Fairfield Freshman School

Kyle Giess Extemporaneous Speech
Nathan Sheriff ICD-10CM Diagnostic Coding
Devery Smith ICD-10CM Diagnostic Coding

Northwest High School

Jackie Linville Advanced Word Processing
Patrick Crockett Broadcast News Production Team
Christian Jacquillard Broadcast News Production Team
William Lemmink Broadcast News Production Team
Aaron Shouse Broadcast News Production Team
Caitlin Scheib Digital Publishing
Isaiah Sheilds Extemporaneous Speech
James Adleta Financial Analyst Team
Jalen Perry Financial Analyst Team
Melanie Wilzbach Fundamental Spreadsheet Applications
Miranda Barton Fundamental Word Processing
Tu Cao Fundamental Word Processing
Millicent Boni Graphic Design Promotion
Trinity Robinson Human Resource Management
Will Jasper Intermediate Word Processing
Gabby Mahar Interview Skills
Keith Love Legal Office Procedures
Kieron Harrell Mays National Officer Campaign Manager
Nicholas Harper National Officer Candidate
Robert Roach Personal Financial Management
Safa Azad State Officer
Brennan Gehring Sub: Financial Analyst Team
Diajah Kidd Sub: Financial Analyst Team
Adam Haynes Voting Delegate – still awaiting State Response

Pleasant Run Middle School

Josh Armor Administrative Support Team ML
Steven Bidleman Administrative Support Team ML
Sam Brecher Administrative Support Team ML
Steven Harrington Administrative Support Team ML
Ethan Gibson Extemporaneous Speech ML
Michael Posey Extemporaneous Speech ML
Sierra Goldick Graphic Design Promotion ML
Hanna Baker Intro to Video Production Team ML
Myles Blackwell Intro to Video Production Team ML
Emerson Cancinos Intro to Video Production Team ML
Noah Denson Intro to Video Production Team ML
Lexi Keys Intro to Video Production Team ML
Mathias Yohannes Intro to Video Production Team ML
Lauren Humphrey Prepared Speech ML
Haley Meece Spreadsheet Applications

White Oak Middle School

Makyla Grace Administrative Support Team ML
Alexia Griffs Administrative Support Team ML
Holly Leininger Administrative Support Team ML
Makayla Robinson Administrative Support Team ML
Bethany Strecker Digital Game Design Team ML
Savannah Swancer Digital Game Design Team ML
Nate Perkins Graphic Design Promotion ML
Khamilah Abdul-Waheed Keyboarding Production ML
Thierno Diallo Prepared Speech ML
Gavin Heid Website Design Team ML
Daniel Stojanovski Website Design Team ML

D. Russel Lee Building

Dylan McKnight 391 Information Technology Concepts-Open
Nicholas Tomlinson 391 Information Technology Concepts-Open
Logan Jodrey 510 Small Business Management Team
Elian Manzueta Nivar 510 Small Business Management Team
Dayvon Simley 510 Small Business Management Team
Dylan Stenski 520 Advanced Interview Skills
Dakota Carter 591 Management, Marketing and Human Resources – Open

Fairfield Freshman School

David Albrecht Financial Analyst Team
Nathan Hershner Financial Analyst Team
Kayli Bell Website Design Team
Jada Boyer Website Design Team

Fairfield High School

Paola Alcantara-Arias Advanced Spreadsheet Apps.
Haley Gale Economic Research-Individual
Parminder Kaur Entrepreneurship
Mackenzie Spurlock Global Marketing Team
Kally Spurlock Global Marketing Team
Hailey Planert Personal Financial Management
Daniel Partlow Presentation Management Individual
Kyle Hoover SQL Database Fundamentals

Northwest High School

Safa Azad Financial Analyst Team
Nicholas Harper Financial Analyst Team
Diego Neri Economic Research Team
David Russell Economic Research Team
Austin Sellers Economic Research Team
Arthur Tilman Economic Research Team
Brandon Bennett Fundamental Desktop Publishing
Brennan Gehring Personal Financial Management
Carleigh Boyd Small Business Management Team
Daija Brown Small Business Management Team
Serenity Robertson Small Business Management Team
Lauryn Russell Small Business Management Team
Bryce Baldock Video Production Team
Kieron Harrell Mays Video Production Team
Adam Haynes Video Production Team
David Scott Video Production Team